Login Here

Karur District an Overview

கரூர் மாவட்டம் வரைபடம் - Karur District MapKarur District has an area of approximately 2,895.57 sq.km. and it is located in the Heart of the state Tamilnadu. Headquaters and the lagest city of the district is Karur. Karur is one of the oldest towns in Tamil Nadu. On 30-Sep-1995, Tiruchirappalli District was divided in to 3 Districts, they were, Tiruchirappalli District, Karur District and Perambalur District. Karur District is bounded in the north by Namakkal District, in the south by Dindigul District, in the east  by Tiruchirapalli District and in the west by Erode District & Tiruppur District. River Kaveri and Amaravathi flows through the length of the district and provides the water source for the whole Karur district.

In 2011, Karur District had population of 10,64,493 of which male and female were 5,28,184 and 5,36,309  respectively with a sex-ratio of 1,015 females for every 1,000 males. In 2001 census, Karur District had a population of 9,35,686 of which males were 4,65,538 and 4,70,148 were females. There was change of 13.77 percent in the population compared to population as per 2001. Average literacy rate of Karur in 2011 were 75.60% compared to 68.08% of 2001.


Road Facilities:

Through Karur District, there were 2 National Highways [N.H.] are

* NH-7 North South Corridor (Kashmir to Kanyakumari)  Varanasi - Kanyakumari

* NH-67 Nagapattinam - Trichy - Karur - Coimbatore,  which connect with other major towns such as Erode, Tiruppur, Pollachi, Namakkal, Dindigul, Theni, Palani, Karaikudi, Kumbakonam, and Pondicherry.  There are bus stands at Karur, Kulithalai, Musiri, Thogaimalai, Tharagampatti and Pallapatti from which there are numerous busses to other parts of the state and other states.

Airport Facilities :

The nearest airport of Karur District  is in Tiruchirappalli Airport (85 km), Coimbatore Airport (130 km) and Madurai Airport (135km).

Karur District is divided in to 5 Taluks, they are

* Aravakurichi Taluk
* Kadavur Taluk
* Karur Taluk
* Krishnarayapuram Taluk
* Kulithalai Taluk

Karur District has 8 Blocks (sub taluk), they are

- Aravakurichi Block
- K.Paramathy Block
- Kadavur Block
- Karur Block
- Krishnarayapuram Block
- Kulithalai Block
- Thanthoni Block
- Thogaimalai Block

கரூர் மாவட்டம் ஒரு பார்வை

கரூர் மாவட்டம், சுமார் 2,895.57 சதுர.கி.மீ. பரவியுள்ளது. இம்மாவட்டத்தின் மிகப்பெரிய நகரமும், தலைமையகமும் கரூர் தான்.  30-செப்டம்பர்-1995 ல், திருச்சிராப்பள்ளி மாவட்டம், கரூர் மாவட்டம், மற்றும் பெரம்பலூர் மாவட்டம் என 3 மாவட்டங்களாகப் அப்பொழுது இருந்த மிகப்பெரிய திருச்சிராப்பள்ளி மாவட்டம் பிரிக்கப்பட்டது. இம்மாவட்டத்தின் எல்லைகள், வடக்கில் நாமக்கல் மற்றும் பெரம்பலூர் மாவட்டமும், கிழக்கில் பெரம்பலூர் மற்றும் திருச்சிராப்பள்ளி மாவட்டமும், தெற்கில் திருச்சிராப்பள்ளி மற்றும் திண்டுக்கல் மாவட்டமும், மேற்கில் ஈரோடு மாவட்டமும் உள்ளது. காவிரி நதி மற்றும் அமராவதி நதி  இம்மாவட்டம் முழுவதும் ஓடி, கரூர் மாவட்டத்தின் தண்ணீர் தேவையை சந்திக்கின்றது.

Add a comment

Latest Info


KarurDistrict.com is a site for?

Scan it with Smart Phone [Iphone / Android / Blackberry & etc.,]

Share This Page

Who's Online

We have 54 guests online

Latest News

Latest Info